Where My Feet Will Lead Me To

Switzerland!

Switzerland!

Even as a small child, I have always wanted to go to Switzerland. For some reasons, I have dreamed of going to the Land of the Alps, swatches and Swiss chocolates. I already knew then that it was a European country and a very beautiful and prosperous one (I’ve been reading a lot about nations and viewing atlases at the early age of 7). I want to meet the Swiss people and know their culture (I guess this doesn’t just apply to them. It applies on the people of every country that I would visit). I want to know why the Alps are so popular (or is it just the ideas of snowy mountains that make me want to know why?). I want to explore its historical cities and experience its breathtaking natural scenery. I am also curious about the research facilities of CERN (European Organization for Nuclear Research), the birthplace of the World Wide Web and the hub of the Large Hadron Collider, which is the world’s largest and most powerful particle accelerator. Oh yes, I like to see for myself what a wonder it is! Oh well, that was and still is my Swiss dream. I have grown up and even though this desire may not be as passionate as before, I still really want to go there… even just on my own.

Virgin Island, Bohol!

Virgin Island, Bohol!

After going in different places locally and overseas, my dream of going to another place has not yet stopped. I want to experience more. I want to be exposed to different cultures. I want to see sights I’ve never seen before. I want to fill my ears with sounds I’ve never ever heard of. I want to taste food authentic to a certain place. I want to smell the air there and compare it to the smell of the other places that I have visited. I want to feel that feeling only a first time experience could give.

I want to go and visit many other countries in the world aside from Switzerland. Albeit impossible to go on each and every one (with some even dangerous to go to), I yearn to move my feet and wait where they will lead me to. There’s the following:

India (and experience very old culture still evident in their food, infrastructure and their very own people)

India!
India!

Japan (and see for myself what I have always seen on their manga and anime, but really, I want to know them as people and why they are who they are)

Japan!

Japan!

Brazil (Who wants to go with me to the Amazon? Anyone?)

Brazil!

Brazil!

New Zealand (and just smell its fresh, fresh air!)

New Zealand!

New Zealand!

Egypt (and see the last remaining ancient wonder of the world!)

Egypt!

Egypt!

the United States (and know why they’re so diversified) and even

USA!

USA!

Antarctica (for the sole reason of being there! Haha!).

Antarctica!

Antarctica!

Truth be told, I should save a lot, lot, lot if I want to really go to these places I’ve just enumerated. I know it’s hard, I know it’s difficult but I can’t wait for the traveler in me to follow this promisingly un-impossible dream.

5 thoughts on “Where My Feet Will Lead Me To

  1. Ang dami Karl! But yes! It’s so worth it just to experience being there. There’s something so different about being able to explore your senses in the places itself, rather than seeing it on movies and televisions. When you look back, you just don’t remember what you see, you will also remember how the wind felt on your face, the sounds that you heard, the different scents, and the taste of the food. It’ll give a better understanding of the place. 😀

    • Yes, marami, Ate Michi! You’re correct, it’s so worth it just to experience being in a place where we have been dreaming to go to. And being able to recall the sensations you’ve felt while being there is a great, great thing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

